Friday, April 19, 2019

Hilliard Lyons Excellence Awards honor Jefferson County Public Schools teachers and principals

Thursday evening, Hilliard Lyons honored 46 teachers and principals of Jefferson County Public Schools (JCPS) during the seventh annual 2019 Hilliard Lyons Excellence Awards. The awards ceremony, sponsored by Louisville-based Hilliard Lyons, a Baird company, recognizes outstanding teaching and leadership performance from instructors across the district.

Hilliard Lyons CEO and Chairman Jim Allen, Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer, and JCPS Superintendent Dr. Marty Pollio provided remarks at the ceremony.

“Jefferson County is fortunate to have such excellent, dedicated educators in our district,” said Hilliard Lyons CEO and Chairman Jim Allen. “We are pleased to be able to gather tonight and recognize these leaders who show up every day, igniting sparks of curiosity, and preparing students for a lifetime of learning.”

In addition to public recognition, honorees receive cash awards ranging from $1,000 to $2,000.

“Public education is the heart of our democracy, and we are grateful to the teachers and principals who emulate that mentality by inspiring the minds of Louisville’s youth on a daily basis,” said Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer. "It’s because of the passion and community behind JCPS employees that we are able to continually improve education at all levels in the Jefferson County area.”

Principals and students nominate teacher recipients of the Hilliard Lyons Excellence Awards, while assistant superintendents nominate principal recipients. Educators at all grade levels are eligible for nominations, which are submitted via the JCPS website. A panel of business and community leaders reviews the nominations and selects the award recipients.

“It’s an honor to stand before you today, for the second year in a row, and recognize the passionate individuals that ensure our students leave JCPS encouraged to reach their highest potential,” said JCPS Superintendent Dr. Marty Pollio. “I would like to congratulate those worthy award recipients and thank Hilliard Lyons for creating an event platform that is easily one of my favorite events of the year.”

Local universities, companies, and community organizations also partnered with the Hilliard Lyons Excellence Awards to present their own honorees.

Here are the 2019 Hilliard Lyons Excellence Awards recipients:

Carlos Berrios, Brooklawn School 
Jennifer Proffitt, DuPont Manual High School 
Lauren Niemann, Fern Creek High School 
Christina Mudd, Greenwood Elementary Schoo
Jennifer Chrestman, Hazelwood Elementary 
Marcie Rogers, Lassiter Middle School 
Michael Lichvar, Lassiter Middle School 
James Russell Cooper, Noe Middle School 
Leslie Spillman, The Phoenix School of Discovery 

Student-Nominated Elementary Award: Theresa Kristofeck, Dunn Elementary School 
Student-Nominated Middle School Award: Joseph Stivers, Crosby Middle School 
Student-Nominated High School Award: Liz Palmer, DuPont Manual High School; Jamie Oleka, Southern High School; John Brewer, The Phoenix School of Discovery 

Adrian Oldham, Smyrna Elementary School 
Ken Moeller, The Phoenix School of Discovery

Sarah Reed, Coleridge-Taylor Montessori Elementary 
Brandee Kaelin, Kenwood Elementary 

Fern Creek High School: Ryan Scott, Lindsay Scott, Rob Redies, Philip Larkin, Miranda Anderson, Lyndsay Batovsky
Lassiter Middle School: Leatrice James, Jacob Carney, Joella Reeves 
Whitney Young Elementary: Joeanna Bolduc, Dathan Utz, Mili Jha, Christina Smith

Audwin and Rae Helton Teacher Award: Sade Graves, Jacob Elementary 
Bellarmine Award: Lauren Graham, Lincoln Elementary Performing Arts Schoo
Class Act Federal Credit Union Award: Candice Hardin, Smyrna Elementary 
Frazier History Museum Teacher Award: Justin DeLorenzo, Coleridge-Taylor Montessori Elementary 
Fund for the Arts Teacher Award: Georgette Kleier, Youth Performing Arts School 
Global Game Changers and Super Hero Educator Award: Carla Kolodey, Byck Elementary 
Jefferson Community Technical College Teacher Award: Missy Callaway, Butler Traditional High School 
Junior Achievement Teacher Award: Brooke Stone, Johnson Traditional Middle School 
Kentucky Science Center Teacher Award: Stacey Hubbard, Westport Middle School 
Metro United Way Early Care and Education Award: Sharon Fragier, Okolona Elementary School 
Metro United Way Out-of-School-Time Leadership Award: Anthony Richardson, Atkinson Academy 
Special Education Teacher Award: Jamellia Perkins, Cochran Elementary School 
UNISTAR, LLC FRYSC Award: Kayla Moss, Roosevelt-Perry Elementary 
University of Louisville Award: Leslyn Rushing, Lincoln Elementary Performing Arts School 
YMCA Award for Youth Development: Bill Perkins, Wilder Elementary School 

ABOUT HILLIARD LYONS: In April, Hilliard Lyons and Hilliard Lyons Trust Company became wholly owned subsidiaries of Baird, an employee-owned, international wealth management, asset management, investment banking/capital markets, and private equity firm with more than $200 billion in client assets and 2018 revenues of $1.78 billion. As a result, Baird’s wealth management business now encompasses approximately 1,300 financial advisors serving clients from over 170 offices in 34 states.
Established in 1854, Hilliard Lyons is one of the nation’s oldest financial services firms. Hilliard Lyons and Hilliard Lyons Trust Company are both headquartered in Louisville, Ky. Together they offer wealth management, trust and estate planning services, as well as select investment banking, municipal finance and asset management services. Both companies combined had over $50 billion in client assets as of Sept. 30, 2018, their fiscal year end, and 2018 revenue of more than $280 million. 

ABOUT JEFFERSON COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS: Educating more than 100,000 students a year, Jefferson County Public Schools (JCPS) is the largest school district in Kentucky and the 28th largest school system in the United States. Leading JCPS is Superintendent Marty Pollio, who believes all students deserve an educational experience that is as innovative, immersive and engaging as the world around them. The district boasts magnet schools and programs at all levels, offers Advanced Placement classes at every school, and is home to 14 “Academies of Louisville” high schools. This model benefits all students through a personalized learning experience within a small learning community; participation in hands-on, project-based learning; development of 21st Century essential skills; and community involvement.